Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Robert Phillips Regional Diversity Award’ Category


Nominations for the 2015 Robert Phillips Regional Diversity Award Now Open

This award is named after Robert Phillips; an individual who promoted and expanded the focus of this conference to include multiple jurisdictions. The award honors employees, work groups, teams or departments that demonstrate a respect for, and commitment to, diversity that goes beyond their day-to-day job performance. In keeping with the spirit and commitment of Robert Phillips we are seeking nominations where extraordinary contributions have been made regarding inclusion, diversity, equity, and equal opportunity.

We are asking you to assist us in identifying and nominating individuals and/or work groups who have supported, promoted and implemented efforts to bring diversity, equity and/or inclusion to your government organization. Award recipients must be current, regular employees in good standing of one of the partnering municipalities/agencies. (See list below).

The Selection Committee is comprised of at least three members of the Northwest Public Employees Diversity Conference Planning Committee and who represent various municipalities. The winner will be notified in advance and will be presented with the award at the conference.

Please fill out the nomination form at: and submit your nominations no later than end of business Friday, September 4, 2015 to be eligible. We appreciate your assistance in identifying this year’s recipient of the Robert Phillips Regional Diversity Award.

Download this year’s Award Letter

Reason for the Award

This award is named in recognition of Robert Phillips, Multnomah County Affirmative Action Officer, who has worked in the area of equal employment opportunity for over 25 years and has a long history of involvement in the civil rights field. As Director of Multnomah County’s Affirmative Action Office, Robert was responsible for the development of policy initiatives, plans and programs that promoted respectful work environments for diverse employees and assisted the organization in meeting its equal employment opportunity and affirmative action obligations. Additionally, Robert served as a commissioner for the Port of Portland’s Civil Service Commission where he has served for 10 years. His community service includes appointments to the Nike Corporation’s Minority Affairs Advisory Board; Gubernatorial appointments to the State Commission on Black Affairs and the State Board to Register Clinical Social Workers; and service on the Oregon State Bar Affirmative Action Committee.

In 1996, the diversity program he managed for the City of Portland was recognized as a best practice model by People Management Resources, a division of Watson Wyatt Worldwide. Robert was also responsible for initiating the first national conference on performance measures for diversity programs, sponsored by the National Quality Institute. In addition, Robert was a recipient of the 2009 Arthur Flemming Award by the Multnomah County Managers of Color, the Oregon assembly for Black Affairs Political Development Award, the Northwest Conference of Black Elected Officials Leadership Award and the 2009 Northwest Public Employees Diversity Conference Robert Phillips Regional Diversity Award. He was the first public sector African American graduate of the Center of Creative Leadership’s African American Leadership Program.

The Multnomah County Board of Commissioners proclaimed February 28, 2012, as Robert Phillips Appreciation Day in Multnomah County, Oregon. In retirement from Multnomah County, Robert has an encore career during which he will serve as a member of the NW Renal Patients Advisory Board; the Oregon Assembly for Black Affairs Political Convention Planning Committee and the Port of Portland Fire Department Civil Service Board.

This award was created to honor his many contributions in the field of equity for all.

2015 Partnering Agencies:  Multnomah County, City of Portland, Clackamas County, City of Hillsboro, Portland Development Commission, Washington County, Metro, Clark County, Portland Public Schools, Home Forward, Department of Environmental Quality, Port of Portland, City of Beaverton, Oregon Health Authority, TriMet, Portland State University, Tualatin Hills Park & Recreation District, City of Gresham, Oregon Department of Transportation.


Past Recipients










2014 – Victoria Cross: 2014 Award Insert



Carole Smith







2013 – Carole Smith: 2013 Award Insert










2012 – Loretta Young: 2012 Award Insert











2011 – Donny Adair: 2011 Award Insert











2010 – Vera Pool: 2010 Award Insert











2009 – Robert Phillips: 2009 Award Insert