Skip to content


Twenty-one years ago Multnomah County held a one day educational conference about diversity and inclusion in the workplace. Its purpose was to address the needs of public employees and the communities they serve.  Several years later the City of Portland joined Multnomah County for this annual event. More public employers have continued to join us in sponsoring and planning this annual diversity conference. In 2009, in acknowledgement and celebration of the conference’s regional growth, the planning committee renamed the conference from City/County Diversity Conference to the Northwest Public Employees Diversity Conference.

The conference’s collaboration presents a unique opportunity to cross diverse boundaries for a common purpose of promoting our diversity values of inclusiveness, respectful work environments, equal opportunity for all, and culturally responsive service.

2015 Planning Committee Members



Percy Winters Jr., Multnomah County

Emmett Wheatfall, Clackamas County

Planning Committee

Coming soon

2014 Planning Committee Members










Percy Winters Jr., Multnomah County

Sid Moore, Department of Environmental Quality

Planning Committee

Multnomah County – Wayne Scott, Ben Duncan, Kevin Kitamura

Clackamas County – Emmett Wheatfall

City of Portland – Diane Avery, Snow Buchanan

Portland Development Commission – Wendy Wilcox

Washington County – Dennis Stichman, Deb Dalenberg

Metro – Jan Jung, Bill Tolbert

Clark County – Harold Rains

Portland Public Schools – Robin Mack

Home Forward – Martha Armstrong

Port of Portland – Dorothy Clingman

Oregon Lottery – Kim Nelson

TriMet – Johnell Bell, Nina Jones

City of Hillsboro – Tami Cockeram, Chris King

Oregon Health Authority – Helen Hoang, Leann Johnson

City of Beaverton – Nancy Bates

Tualatin Valley Fire & Rescue – Tina Quintal

Bonneville Power Administration – Lidia Somilleda, Godfrey Beckett

Portland State University – Sara Saltzberg

Conference Coordinator – Carolyn Lee